Get the feed in a reader!Get updates by email!Get updates by email!


Urban Leaving to Country Living

The Scotia Bank Giller Prize


The Scotiabank Giller Prize, or Giller Prize, is a literary award given to a Canadian author of a novel or short story collection published in English (including translation) the previous year, after an annual juried competition between publishers who submit entries. Existing only since 1994, it has nevertheless become one of the more prestigious book awards in Canada.

The winners:

1994 M.G. Vassanji, The Book of Secrets
1995 Rohinton Mistry, A Fine Balance
1996 Margaret Atwood, Alias Grace
1997 Mordecai Richler, Barney’s Version
1998 Alice Munro, The Love of a Good Woman
1999 Bonnie Burnard, A Good House
2000 Michael Ondaatje, Anil’s Ghost tie with
David Adams Richards, Mercy Among the Children
2001 Richard B. Wright, Clara Callan
2002 Austin Clarke, The Polished Hoe
2003 M.G. Vassanji, The In-Between World of Vikram Lall
2004 Alice Munro, Runaway
2005 David Bergen, The Time in Between
2006 Vincent Lam, Bloodletting and Miraculous Cures
2007 Elizabeth Hay, Late Nights on Air
2008 Joseph Boyden, Through Black Spruce
2009 Linden MacIntyre, The Bishop’s Man
2010 Johanna Skibsrud, The Sentimentalists
2011 Esi Edugyan, Half-Blood Blues

Add to Technorati Favorites

Please Share!
posted under | No Comments »
Every little bit of kindness is appreciated

Other Amount:

Your Email Address :